Los Angeles Times Book Prizes: ‘Bodyworld,’ ‘The Lodger’ among graphic novel finalists

Feb. 22, 2011 | 1:22 p.m.

"You'll Never Know, Book Two: Collateral Damage" by C. Tyler (Fantagraphics), "Duncan the Wonder Dog: Show One" by Adam Hines (Adhouse Books), "Weathercraft" by Jim Woodring (Fantagraphics).

The finalists in the graphic novel category of the 2010 Los Angeles Times Book Prizes have been announced:

Duncan the Wonder Dog: Show One” by Adam Hines (Adhouse Books)
Bodyworld” by Dash Shaw (Pantheon)
The Lodger” by Karl Stevens (KSA Publishing)
You’ll Never Know, Book Two: Collateral Damage” by C. Tyler (Fantagraphics)
Weathercraft” by Jim Woodring (Fantagraphics)

The 2010 Los Angeles Times Book Prizes will be awarded April 29 in a ceremony at the Los Angeles Times building. The annual event will be the 31st presentation of the awards. The graphic novel category was added last year and the first winner was “Asterios Polyp.”

For a list of all nominees in all categories, go to our must-read sister blog, Jacket Copy.


‘Asterios Polyp’ wins Times Prize for graphic novels

Steve Niles scares up laughs with “Doc Macabre”

Dean Haspiel and Billy Dogma’s broken heart

“The Alcoholic” is a scabby masterpiece

Jack Kirby and Frank Zappa, a cosmic friendship

Mignola on Kirby, Hollywood & strange night in Prague

Grant Morrison: Evil is the new black

Darwyn Cooke’s gamble: Rewriting “The Outfit”

Miller returns to ”300″ with “no apologies”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

E-mail It
Powered by ShareThis