Oct. 02, 2014 | 1:06 p.m.

Avengers & X-Men: Axis and Miracleman in comic book previews

"All New Miracleman Annual" #1 - Cover
  Find the best and the brightest of the comic book world right here, before the books hit the shelves. Thumb through the gallery above, and click on thumbnails below for larger images. We’ll update the post throughout the month so check back to see this growing gallery of covers and pages from upcoming releases from top publishers. To see more art from recent releases, check out our comic book news section and archive of comics-art galleries.   RECENT AND RELATED Long Beach Comic Con: Lois Lane and the advancement of women in comics Long Beach Comic Con: Cosplay photos, from Deadpool to Pinkie Pie Marvel settles dispute over superhero rights with Jack Kirby estate ‘Annihilator': Frazer Irving crafts L.A. dreamscape for Hollywood tale ‘Justice League: Forever Heroes': See Ivan Reis, Doug Mahnke sketches Gail Simone lets Catman loose in a fresh ‘Secret Six’ in DC’s […]
Oct. 02, 2014 | 12:34 p.m.

Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa channels ’60s horror for new ‘Sabrina’ comic

'Chilling Adventures of Sabrina' No. 1 (featured image)
It’s a rather different incarnation of the well-known young witch who will headline “Chilling Adventures of Sabrina,” the latest Archie Comics series to enjoy a bit of a spooky reboot under the direction of Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa. The company’s chief creative officer, who last year brought zombies to Riverdale with the ongoing “Afterlife With Archie,” took some interesting inspiration when bringing Sabrina back to the forefront of her own comic — he principally looked to Roman Polanski’s landmark horror film “Rosemary’s Baby” for the 1960s-set origin tale, which presents a darker take on the characters and their adventures than previously seen. Hero Complex caught up with Aguirre-Sacasa to learn more about the narrative direction and tone of “Sabrina,” and the contributions of artist Robert Hack. Issue No. 1 is set for release Oct. 8. HC: It’s been five years since Sabrina […]
Oct. 02, 2014 | 9:00 a.m.

‘Black Sails’ Season 2 launch set for January; see new teaser art

Teaser art for the second season of "Black Sails." (Starz)
Fans of “Black Sails” won’t have to wait long for more adventures from the decks of the Walrus. Season 2 of the Emmy-winning pirate series will set sail Jan. 24, Starz is announcing Thursday, and Hero Complex readers get a first look at new teaser art for the show in the gallery above. The art was inspired by the show’s main title sequence, which garnered an Emmy nomination earlier this year. (Check it out in the video below.) The series, executive produced by Michael Bay, follows fearsome pirate Captain Flint (Toby Stephens) and his crew 20 years before the events of Robert Louis Stevenson’s classic “Treasure Island.” Luke Arnold portrays John Silver in the years before he becomes the “Treasure Island” baddie. The series also stars Hannah New as Eleanor Guthrie, who runs the New Providence smuggling operation; Jessa Parker […]
Oct. 01, 2014 | 5:44 p.m.

DC Entertainment to revisit licensing deals following T-shirt uproar

bmans-wife
DC Entertainment will reevaluate licensing agreements after the comics giant was criticized for lending its name to perceived sexist T-shirts for children, the company said Wednesday. Upset parents and other fans recently took to social media to hammer away at the company after shirts for children were found on store shelves with what they called sexist messages. One shirt in particular for girls that drew ire read, “Training to be Batman’s Wife.” Other shirts for children have various but related slogans and sayings, including pajamas for girls saying: “I Only Date Superheroes.” A shirt for boys has a picture of Superman kissing Wonder Woman saying: “Superman does it again” and “Score!” DC Entertainment agreed with its critics. “All our fans are incredibly important to us, and we understand that the messages on certain T-shirts are offensive. We agree,” the company said […]
Sept. 30, 2014 | 9:02 a.m.

‘Adventure Time: The Art of Ooo': See Adam Muto’s story notes

"Adventure Time: The Art of Ooo" (featured image)
Fans of Finn, Jake, Marceline and the rest of the zany cast of “Adventure Time” are invited to a Los Angeles release party Thursday for a new book about the show’s art. “Adventure Time: The Art of Ooo” offers interviews with the show’s creator Pendleton Ward and its writers, storyboarders, animators and voice actors, as well as an extensive look at concept art, storyboards, early character sketches, background paintings and the series’ show bible. Hero Complex readers get an exclusive preview of some of Adam Muto‘s illustrated story notes for various episodes of the Cartoon Network juggernaut. Check them out in the gallery above. The lavish, 352-page volume, authored by artist and animator Chris McDonnell, is due out Oct. 14, but will be available at Thursday’s release party from 7 to 10 p.m. at the iam8bit gallery in Echo Park. McDonnell and “Adventure Time” artists Ako […]
Sept. 29, 2014 | 12:51 p.m.

‘Afterlife With Archie': Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa talks horror, movie plans

"Afterlife with Archie" No. 1. (Archie Comics)
The spotlight was on Riverdale’s dark side during the “Afterlife With Archie” panel with writer and Archie Comics chief creative officer Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa at Long Beach Comic Con on Sunday. “I’ve never felt like we should dial back the horror, but the challenge is, as horrific as the events get, at the core it is an ‘Archie’ book,” said Aguirre-Sacasa in a discussion with Hero Complex’s Blake Hennon at the weekend expo. Among the topics explored were Aguirre-Sacasa’s history with Archie Comics, the origins of “Afterlife” and what readers can expect in future issues as well as his upcoming “The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina” series. “Afterlife With Archie” chronicles Riverdale’s zombie apocalypse, which was instigated when Sabrina the Teenage Witch attempted to bring back Jughead Jones’ dog, Hot Dog, from the dead. The consequence: Jughead is the first human casualty […]
Sept. 29, 2014 | 12:16 p.m.

‘SNL’ spoofs Marvel success with ‘Guardians’ star Chris Pratt

(NBC / screenshot)
Is Marvel so successful that it can do no wrong in the eyes of moviegoers? Maybe, according to “Saturday Night Live.” In the show’s premiere this weekend, “Guardians of the Galaxy” star Chris Pratt joined the “SNL” cast in a satirical trailer poking fun at Marvel’s ever-expanding roster of superhero films and their apparent box-office invincibility. The faux trailer begins with images from “Guardians,” which has earned some $644 million at the worldwide box office, and a voice-over explaining that, after the success of a film based on “a super-obscure comic book” and the hype surrounding the studio’s eagerly anticipated “Ant-Man” (“It’s about a guy who talks to ants. What? Yeah!”), Marvel doesn’t need comic books anymore. “We made a superhero team by pointing at a bunch of random words in the dictionary,” the trailer deadpans, introducing “Creatures of the […]
Sept. 29, 2014 | 9:00 a.m.

Long Beach Comic Con: Lois Lane and the advancement of women in comics

LoisLaneLBCCfeatured
Lois Lane may be the most famous woman in comics, and the fearless Daily Planet journalist got her due from several “Ladies First: The Impact of Women in Comics” panelists during a wide-ranging discussion Saturday. Barbara Randall Kesel, a writer and editor who has worked at DC Comics, said the character’s portrayal “rises and falls with what is happening with women in the real world” – from being a “spitfire” like new career women in the ’30s and ’40s, to being diminished to “comedic foil” for Superman as women were being encouraged to relinquish jobs and focus on their husbands in the ’50s, to becoming a more feminist character as the equality movement has advanced. Lane is “a superhero without any powers,” popular artist Amanda Conner, who co-writes DC’s “Harley Quinn” series, said. “She’s got that assumption of authority – […]
Sept. 28, 2014 | 7:51 p.m.

Long Beach Comic Con: Cosplay photos, from Deadpool to Pinkie Pie

Waylon Wilkerson, 33, poses as the Wolverine at the Long Beach Comic Con at the Long Beach Convention Center. (Genaro Molina / Los Angeles Times)
Photographer Genaro Molina headed down to Long Beach this weekend to capture the cosplay on display at the 2014 Long Beach Comic Con. Click through the gallery above for a look at some of this year’s more colorful Comic Con attendees. In its sixth year, the convention featured a showroom floor filled with booths offering clothing, toys, artists’ drawings and comic properties, movie item replicas and numerous cosplay how-to sessions for fledgling costumers. Panel discussions and in-depth conversations with creators — including in the convention’s 104 A auditorium, which this year was redubbed the “Hero Complex” theater for the weekend — were also a part of the convention’s programming. Discussions of race and gender in comics and spotlight sessions devoted to “Hellboy” mastermind Mike Mignola, Man of Action Studios, 75 years of Batman and the zany minds behind “Robot Chicken” […]
Sept. 28, 2014 | 9:00 a.m.

Long Beach Comic Con: Mike Mignola happy to dwell in hell with Hellboy

Mike Mignola has gone to hell with Hellboy, and he has every intention of staying there. “I find the hell that I’ve created very, very cozy,” he told a crowd at Long Beach Comic Con on Saturday afternoon. “I don’t want to leave it.” So what’s so great about the “Hellboy in Hell” underworld where Mignola plans to spend most of, or maybe all, of the rest of his career? “If you could look inside my head, this is the world that’s in there,” the Hellboy creator said. “It’s entirely made out of the things I like,” which include old buildings and forests and exclude cars, planes and the pressure of trying to illustrate real places. “I just want to draw that world,” he continued. “The trouble is, that world’s really big, so it’s going to take a really long […]
Close
E-mail It
Powered by ShareThis