Malcolm McDowell to receive life career prize at Saturn Awards in June

May 14, 2014 | 3:00 p.m.

All the droogs will shout and cheer.

Malcolm McDowell, most famous for playing the eyeliner-wearing bad boy Alex DeLarge in “A Clockwork Orange,” directed by Stanley Kubrick and based on Anthony Burgess’ dystopian novel, will be presented with the Life Career Award from the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films at the 40th annual Saturday Awards in June.

“I was invited into the woods when Kubrick cast me in the film but I couldn’t see the trees until years later,” McDowell told Hero Complex in a 2011 interview, when asked about his iconic performance. “For maybe 10 years, I resented it because everyone wanted me to repeat it. The best part for any actor is the next one and ‘Clockwork’ irritated me because it took that away at times.”

Other winners of the Special Awards honors include writer-producer Byran Fuller (NBC’s “Hannibal”); special effects makeup artist and “Walking Dead” executive producer Gregory Nicotero, whose groundbreaking handiwork has been seen in more than 400 films, including “Day of the Dead” and “From Dusk Till Dawn.”

Greg Nicotero on 'The Walking Dead'

Greg Nicotero (Gary Friedman/Los Angeles Times)

Marc Cushman, author of “These are the Voyages: TOS: Season One” and “These are the Voyage: TOS: Season Two” that detail the making of the original “Star Trek” series, also will be recognized at the event, celebrating excellence in genre entertainment.

In February, the academy announced the top nominees for all the categories of the Saturn awards: Alfonso Cuaron’s “Gravity” and Peter Jackson’s “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” led the pack with eight nominations each. All of the awards will be presented June 26.

Founded in 1972 to recognize films often overlooked by mainstream awards series, the Saturn Awards fete projects in a broad swath of genres, including science fiction, horror, fantasy, thriller and action/adventure.

For the 40th anniversary bash, the academy has added two new categories: best comic-to-film motion picture, with “Man of Steel,” “Iron Man 3,” “Thor: The Dark World” and “The Wolverine” vying for the award; and best performance by a younger actor in a television series, with nominees including Asa Butterfield (“Ender’s Game”); Chloe Grace Moretz (“Carrie”); Sophie Nelisse (“The Book Thief”); Saoirse Ronan (“How I Live Now”); Ty Simpkins (“Iron Man 3”) and Dylan Sprayberry (“Man of Steel”).

For a complete list of nominations, visit

— Margaret Wappler | @MargaretWappler


Evangeline Lilly as Tauriel in a poster for "The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug." (Warner Bros.)Peter Jackson promises deeper characters, conflict for ‘Hobbit’ sequel

‘Hobbit’ star Martin Freeman on comedy in ‘Smaug,’ Bilbo’s Englishness

‘Hobbit’ star Benedict Cumberbatch on Smaug, his ‘porn star dragon’

‘Catching Fire’: Francis Lawrence adapts to Panem life

‘Hunger Games’ quiz: Test your ‘Catching Fire’ knowledge

‘Game of Thrones’ exclusive: George R.R. Martin on Arya, Hound

‘Game of Thrones’: New images offer Season 4 sneak peek

Guillermo del Toro edges toward great success with ‘Pacific Rim’

‘Pac Rim’ comic: Travis Beacham talks Del Toro



E-mail It
Powered by ShareThis