‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ soundtrack enlists Lorde, Aguilera

Sept. 26, 2013 | 12:41 p.m.
id d14 05415 r2 The Hunger Games: Catching Fire soundtrack enlists Lorde, Aguilera

Philip Seymour Hoffman and Woody Harrelson in "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire." (Lionsgate)

id d13 05238 r3 The Hunger Games: Catching Fire soundtrack enlists Lorde, Aguilera

Jennifer Lawrence, Elizabeth Banks and Josh Hutcherson in "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire." (Lionsgate)

02 300dpi The Hunger Games: Catching Fire soundtrack enlists Lorde, Aguilera

Jennifer Lawrence and Josh Hutcherson in "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire." (Lionsgate)

Music from punk pioneer Patti Smith, pop singer Christina Aguilera and New Zealand songstress Lorde will feature on the soundtrack to “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire,” the anticipated sequel starring Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen, a young warrior who once again takes up her bow and arrow to fight for her own life and her people in a dystopian future.

Lionsgate and Republic Records today announced the full soundtrack lineup for the second movie in the series based on Suzanne Collins’ bestselling trilogy.

Directed by Francis Lawrence, “Catching Fire” sees newly minted Oscar winner Lawrence return to the arena where the brutal games are staged — she’s summoned back to compete against previous victors in a special anniversary edition of the televised battle to the death. But this time, revolution is fomenting in the impoverished districts outside the Capitol that hosts the cruel spectacle.

PHOTOS: Katniss and Peeta in ‘Catching Fire’ posters

The soundtrack includes the previously announced contribution from British rock band Coldplay, “Atlas,” a single released in August. The album also features songs by the Lumineers, Lorde, Ellie Goulding, the Weeknd and the National.

The “Catching Fire” soundtrack will be released Nov. 19, three days before the film’s Nov. 22 opening.

The previous “Hunger Games” film and soundtrack both proved wildly successful. The original “Hunger Games” soundtrack reached No. 1 on the Billboard Top 200 and won a Grammy Award with Taylor Swift’s “Safe & Sound.”

Released in March 2012, “The Hunger Games” earned more than $691 million worldwide.

The full track list for the “Catching Fire” soundtrack is below.

1. “Atlas” – Coldplay
2. “Silhouettes” – Of Monsters and Men
3. “Elastic Heart” – Sia (ft. The Weeknd & Diplo)
4. “Lean” – The National
5. “We Remain” – Christina Aguilera
6. “Devil May Cry” – The Weeknd
7. “Who We Are” – Imagine Dragons
8. “Everybody Wants To Rule The World” – Lorde
9. “Gale Song” – The Lumineers
10. “Mirrors” – Ellie Goulding
11. “Capital Letter” – Patti Smith
12. “Shooting Arrows At The Sky” – Santigold
13. “Place For Us” – Mikky Ekko
14. “Lights” – Phantogram
15. “Angel On Fire” – Antony and the Johnsons

– Oliver Gettell

Follow us on Twitter: @LATherocomplex


Hunger GamesCatching Fire’ trailer: Jennifer Lawrence back in action

Comic-Con: ‘Catching Fire’ star Jennifer Lawrence shines

13 must-see movies in 2013

‘Catching Fire’: Katniss, Peeta in character posters

‘Catching Fire’ image pairs Finnick, Katniss

Year of the arrow: Katniss, Hawkeye, ‘Brave’

‘Hunger Games’: District 12 for sale

Katniss, Hermione, ‘Brave’: Defiant girls rule

North Carolina wants you to visit Panem

Josh Hutcherson on Peeta, Jennifer Lawrence

‘Hunger Games’: Fan appetite still growing


One Response to ‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ soundtrack enlists Lorde, Aguilera

  1. darci says:

    Um this would've been awesome without Coldplay but I digress. The rest of the track list is great. I especially love "Devil May Cry" by The Weeknd and also "Elastic Heart" by Sia + Diplo and The Weeknd. Also a big fan of "Lights" by Phantogram – really I like all the songs except "Atlas." Getting Alexandra Patsavas as the music supervisor for this one was a great choice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

E-mail It
Powered by ShareThis